You are the owner of this article.

Medina City Mayor Sworn in for Third Term

  • By Angela Huston / Photos by Russ Huston /

It was standing room only as supportive families, friends and well-wishers filled Medina City Hall January 3 to witness the oaths of office being administered to local city officials. Pastor Arthur Ruffin, Second Baptist Church, delivered the invocation, after which John Coyne presented the city's leaders.

The first to renew the oath of office for his third term was Mayor Dennis T. Hanwell. His wife Christine held the Bible as he was sworn in by the Honorable Judge Christopher J. Collier. Next, the Honorable Judge Gary F. Werner swore in Director of Finance Keith H. Dirham as Dirham's wife Deonna held the Bible.

Laura Parnell-Cavey, Ward 1 Councilwoman, was sworn in by her father, Bruce Doom, Mark E. Kolesar, Ward 3 Councilman, was sworn in by his mother, Marjorie Kolesar, and Paul Rose, At-Large Councilman, was sworn in by his son, Eric Rose, as his parents, Paul and Inez Rose, held the Bible.

Council committee appointments were approved in groups. Appointments by President of Council were Bill Lamb/Airport Commission, and Paul Rose/Community Investment Corporation. Other Council appointments approved were of Laura Parnell-Cavey, Nicole Glatz, and President of Council Pro-Tem James A. Shields.

Confirmation of Mayor's Director appointments included Gregory A. Huber/Director of Law, Serafino (Nino) Piccoli/Service Director, Jonathan Mendel/Planning and Community Development Director, Michael Wright/Recreation Center Director, Kimberly Marshall/Economic Development Director, Jansen Wehrley/Parks Director, Daniel R. Gladish/Building Official, and Jarrod Fry/Cable TV Executive Director.

Confirmation of other Mayor's appointments were Elizabeth Biggins-Ramer, Patty Stahl, Kris Klink, Andrew Dutton, Robert Thompson, and Brian Hilberg.

Confirmation of Director of Finance appointment was of Deputy Director of Finance, Lori Bowers.

Committee Chairs are: Finance, John Coyne; Health, Safety and Sanitation, Mark Kolesar; Public Properties, Jim Shields; Emerging Technologies, Paul Rose; Special Legislation, Bill Lamb; Streets and Sidewalks, Dennie Simpson; and Water and Utilities, Laura Parnell-Cavey.

All appointments were approved by Council members.