COLUMBUS – Senate President Larry Obhof (R-Medina) was sworn in yesterday for a second term as President of the Ohio Senate during opening day ceremonies at the Statehouse, which marked the beginning of the 133rd General Assembly.

“It is an honor to lead the Senate, and I appreciate the confidence of my colleagues,” said President Obhof. “We accomplished a great deal in the last General Assembly such as balancing a difficult budget, cutting taxes for the working poor, helping victims of human trafficking, reforming our sentencing laws, reducing government red tape and setting the stage for a pro-growth economy, and we will continue our work in this new general assembly to make a great state even better for all of our constituents.”

President Obhof represents the 22nd Ohio Senate District, which encompasses all of Medina, Ashland and Richland counties, as well as portions of Holmes County.

Appointed to the Ohio Senate in 2011, Obhof was elected by the voters in 2012 and again in 2016. He has served in Senate leadership since 2013, elected by his peers first as Majority Whip, then President Pro Tempore, and most recently, as President beginning in 2017. As President, Obhof oversees the 33-seat chamber.

Other members of the Ohio Senate Majority Caucus leadership team who were sworn in during today’s special ceremonies include: Senator Bob Peterson (R-Washington Court House) reelected as President Pro Tempore; Senator Randy Gardner (R-Bowling Green) reelected as Majority Floor Leader; and Senator Matt Huffman (R-Lima) newly elected as Majority Floor Leader.

To watch today’s session, visit https://www.ohiochannel.org/video/ohio-senate-1-7-2019.

To view the Senate’s schedule for the first half of 2019, click here.